South Carolina General Assembly
109th Session, 1991-1992

Bill 4213

Indicates Matter Stricken
Indicates New Matter

                    Current Status

Introducing Body:               House
Bill Number:                    4213
Primary Sponsor:                Harvin
Type of Legislation:            CR
Subject:                        Clarendon Memorial Hospital
Date Bill Passed both Bodies:   Jan 21, 1992
Computer Document Number:       BBM/9601.JM
Introduced Date:                Jan 21, 1992
Last History Body:              House
Last History Date:              Jan 21, 1992
Last History Type:              Received from Senate
Scope of Legislation:           Statewide
All Sponsors:                   Harvin
Type of Legislation:            Concurrent


 Bill  Body    Date          Action Description              CMN
 ----  ------  ------------  ------------------------------  ---
 4213  House   Jan 21, 1992  Received from Senate
 4213  Senate  Jan 21, 1992  Introduced, adopted, returned
                             with concurrence
 4213  House   Jan 21, 1992  Introduced, adopted, sent to

View additional legislative information at the LPITS web site.

(Text matches printed bills. Document has been reformatted to meet World Wide Web specifications.)



Whereas, the Clarendon Hospital District was created in 1947 by act of the General Assembly, providing for a board of trustees and vesting in the board the authority to acquire a site for, and to build, Clarendon Memorial Hospital (CMH); and

Whereas, construction of CMH began in 1948, and in 1951 the hospital, which was named for the men and women from Clarendon County who served their country in the armed forces, opened its doors; and

Whereas, in the succeeding four decades CMH has grown significantly, has continued to offer better and more up-to-date medical services, and has had a tremendous impact on the quality of everyday life in Clarendon County; and

Whereas, the members of the board of trustees of the hospital, who have provided excellent guidance and direction, include the following: Mr. Eddie Stuckey (chairman); Dr. Clarence E. Coker, Jr. (vice-chairman); Dr. Larry D. Cantey; Mrs. Cheryl Wingard; Mr. Norman McFaddin; Mr. Tarleton Way; Mr. Herb Hilliard; Mr. Al Young; and Mr. Leroy Phillips; and

Whereas, the success of CMH is due also to the outstanding efforts of Mr. Edward R. Frye, Jr. (administrator); Mr. Charles Hester (assistant administrator); Ms. Catherine T. Kirkpatrick (social services and public relations director); and the many other dedicated employees of CMH; and

Whereas, the fortieth anniversary of CMH (1951-1991) is truly a reason for joyous and thankful celebration and is an occasion greatly deserving of recognition. Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

That the General Assembly of the State of South Carolina, by this resolution, congratulates and commends Clarendon Memorial Hospital on its fortieth anniversary of outstanding and dedicated medical service.

Be it further resolved that a copy of this resolution be forwarded to the following: the board of trustees, namely, Mr. Eddie Stuckey, Chairman, Route 2, Box 1726, Summerton, S.C. 29148; Dr. Clarence E. Coker, Jr., Vice-chairman, P.O. Drawer F, Manning, S.C. 29102; Dr. Larry D. Cantey, P.O. Box 190, Manning, S.C. 29102; Mrs. Cheryl Wingard, Route 1, Box 53, Turbeville, S.C. 29162; Mr. Norman McFaddin, Route 1, Box 28, Sardinia, S.C. 29143; Mr. Tarleton Way, Route 1, Box 583, Manning, S.C. 29102; Mr. Herb Hilliard, General Delivery, Davis Station, S.C. 29041; Mr. Al Young, P.O. Box 576, Manning, S.C. 29102; and Mr. Leroy Phillips, Route 3, Box 550, Manning, S.C. 29102; Mr. Edward R. Frye, Jr., Administrator, 9 Oak Street, Manning, S.C. 29102; Mr. Charles Hester, Assistant Administrator, P.O. Box 667, Manning, S.C. 29102; and Ms. Catherine T. Kirkpatrick, Social Services and Public Relations Director, Clarendon Memorial Hospital, P.O. Box 550, Manning, S.C. 29102-0550.