South Carolina General Assembly
113th Session, 1999-2000

Download This Bill in Microsoft Word format

Bill 1294

Indicates Matter Stricken
Indicates New Matter

                    Current Status

Bill Number:                      1294
Type of Legislation:              Concurrent Resolution CR
Introducing Body:                 Senate
Introduced Date:                  20000329
Primary Sponsor:                  Jackson
All Sponsors:                     Jackson and Land
Drafted Document Number:          l:\s-res\dj\018sain.kad.doc
Date Bill Passed both Bodies:     20000330
Subject:                          Calhoun County High School Saints 
                                  Basketball Team, Resolutions


Body    Date      Action Description                     Com     Leg Involved
______  ________  ______________________________________ _______ ____________
Senate  20000330  Received from House
House   20000329  Introduced, adopted, returned
                  with concurrence
Senate  20000329  Introduced, adopted, sent to House

              Versions of This Bill

View additional legislative information at the LPITS web site.

(Text matches printed bills. Document has been reformatted to meet World Wide Web specifications.)



Whereas, the Calhoun County High School Saints basketball team battled a huge size disadvantage but persevered to win the Class AA Boys State Championship with a 58-56 overtime victory over Chesnee; and

Whereas, the Saints have won their second championship in the past five years, their last one in 1996; and

Whereas, this dynamic victory was the end of a 29-3 season for the Saints under the leadership of Head Basketball Coach and Athletic Director Zambolist Fredrick; and

Whereas, the Saints completed an undefeated season in Region 5-AA and earned their tenth consecutive region championship; and

Whereas, the team was led by seniors Jeremiah Cheeseboro, Kendrick Fordham, Contrellis Hampton, Kevin Johnson, and Shareem Shannon; and

Whereas, the team also included underclassmen Charles Ben, Darren Ben, Leonard Dash, Brian Favor, Zambolist Fredrick, Maurice Jones, Ivan Larrymore, Delton McFadden, Monrell Murph, Damien Shannon, and Steven Smith;

Whereas, the team's victory can also be credited to the support of many others including the Assistant Coaches, Team Managers, Superintendent Paula Harris, Principal J. Preston Threatt, the faculty and staff, and of all the fans of Calhoun County High School; and

Whereas, the Saints' achievement is highly deserving of recognition. Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:

That the General Assembly of the State of South Carolina, by this resolution, congratulates the Calhoun County High School Saints on their well-earned victory in the Class AA Boys Basketball State Championship game and their second state championship in the past five years.

Be it further resolved that a copy of this resolution be forwarded to Principal J. Preston Threatt and Head Coach Zam Fredrick.


This web page was last updated on Wednesday, December 9, 2009 at 9:11 A.M.