South Carolina General Assembly
113th Session, 1999-2000

Download This Bill in Microsoft Word format

Bill 4986

Indicates Matter Stricken
Indicates New Matter

                    Current Status

Bill Number:                      4986
Type of Legislation:              Concurrent Resolution CR
Introducing Body:                 House
Introduced Date:                  20000426
Primary Sponsor:                  Scott
All Sponsors:                     Scott, Allen, Allison, Altman, Askins, 
                                  Bailey, Bales, Barfield, Barrett, Battle, 
                                  Bowers, Breeland, G. Brown, H. Brown, 
                                  J. Brown, T. Brown, Campsen, Canty, Carnell, 
                                  Cato, Chellis, Clyburn, Cobb-Hunter, Cooper, 
                                  Cotty, Dantzler, Davenport, Delleney, 
                                  Easterday, Edge, Emory, Fleming, Frye, Gamble, 
                                  Gilham, Gourdine, Govan, Hamilton, Harrell, 
                                  Harris, Harrison, Harvin, Haskins, Hawkins, 
                                  Hayes, J. Hines, M. Hines, Hinson, Hosey, 
                                  Howard, Huggins, Inabinett, Jennings, Keegan, 
                                  Kelley, Kennedy, Kirsh, Klauber, Knotts, Koon, 
                                  Lanford, Law, Leach, Lee, Limehouse, 
                                  Littlejohn, Lloyd, Loftis, Lourie, Lucas, 
                                  Mack, Maddox, Martin, McCraw, McGee, McKay, 
                                  M. McLeod, W. McLeod, McMahand, 
                                  Meacham-Richardson, Miller, Moody-Lawrence, 
                                  J.H. Neal, J.M. Neal, Neilson, Ott, Parks, 
                                  Perry, Phillips, Pinckney, Quinn, Rhoad, Rice, 
                                  Riser, Robinson, Rodgers, Rutherford, 
                                  Sandifer, Seithel, Sharpe, Sheheen, Simrill, 
                                  D. Smith, F. Smith, J. Smith, R. Smith, 
                                  Stille, Stuart, Taylor, Townsend, Tripp, 
                                  Trotter, Vaughn, Walker, Webb, Whatley, 
                                  Whipper, Wilder, Wilkes, Wilkins, Witherspoon, 
                                  Woodrum and Young-Brickell
Drafted Document Number:          l:\council\bills\ggs\22625cm00.doc
Date Bill Passed both Bodies:     20000502
Subject:                          New Ebenezer Baptist Church, Resolutions


Body    Date      Action Description                     Com     Leg Involved
______  ________  ______________________________________ _______ ____________
House   20000502  Received from Senate
Senate  20000427  Introduced, adopted, returned
                  with concurrence
House   20000426  Introduced, adopted, sent to Senate

              Versions of This Bill

View additional legislative information at the LPITS web site.

(Text matches printed bills. Document has been reformatted to meet World Wide Web specifications.)



Whereas, New Ebenezer Baptist Church of Richland County is celebrating its ninetieth anniversary; and

Whereas, New Ebenezer Baptist Church was organized in the cottage of Sister Louvenia Getters who lived and worked for a family in the 1100 block of Marion Street adjacent to Trinity Episcopal Church in the City of Columbia; and

Whereas, throughout its history, the church has been led by pastors of great distinction: Reverend Ransom Jumper, Reverend Callie Leaphart, Reverend John G. Green, Reverend C. H. Simmon, Reverend Alfred Lee Peterson, Reverend Hills L. Norris, Reverend Dr. William Fair, Reverend John R. Wilson (interim pastor), and currently, Reverend Dr. Michael Ross; and

Whereas, under the leadership of its first pastor, the Reverend Ransom Jumper, the congregation was first housed in a church building formerly owned by Ebenezer Lutheran Church in the 2200 block of Sumter Street in the City of Columbia, and remained at this location for twelve years; and

Whereas, in 1913, under the leadership of Reverend J. G. Green, land was purchased in the 1900 block of Lady Street, where the congregation remained until 1987 when it moved to its present location on Gregg Street; and

Whereas, under the dynamic leadership of Reverend Ross, who was called to pastor in 1989, the congregation celebrated the burning of its mortgage in 1994, and established a number of new clubs, programs and ministries, which include: JAGS/(The Brotherhood); the Nurses' Guild; Teens Club; a newsletter (the Trumpet); a scholarship fund; the new Pastor's Aide Club; Children's Church; Girl Scouts; a radio ministry broadcast on WLGO-AM; a leadership conference held annually for all leaders of the church; an early morning service; a new choir, "The Voices of Praise"; regional Bible study groups; an annual Church Growth Institute; an annual Women's Conference and Men's Conference; and the construction and dedication of the church's Educational Resource Center; and

Whereas, over the years New Ebenezer Baptist Church has grown and toiled with the utmost dedication and care to proclaim its Christian mission; and

Whereas, New Ebenezer Baptist Church has played a pivotal role in the history of both Richland County and the City of Columbia for many generations and today flourishes as a beacon of hope and good will; and

Whereas, the members of the General Assembly are pleased to have the opportunity to recognize New Ebenezer Baptist Church on the joyful occasion of its ninetieth anniversary. Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

That the General Assembly of the State of South Carolina recognizes and congratulates New Ebenezer Baptist Church of Richland County upon the celebration of its ninetieth anniversary.

Be it further resolved that a copy of this resolution be forwarded to the congregation of New Ebenezer Baptist Church, in the care of the church's pastor, Dr. Michael Ross.


This web page was last updated on Wednesday, December 9, 2009 at 9:32 A.M.